Wet Season Race Series – Annual 9 race series from Nov to April

DBCYA hosts the annual Wet Season Race Series (WSRS) each year, with nine different course races held over the period November to April, with a break for the festive season. Sailors can expect a lively race series, with the occasional build-up storm squall and wet season downpour. Participants then head to the clubhouse to catch up on the day’s action and find out the day’s winners. Many stay on to enjoy the a-la-carte dinner options and live music on offer. Race results are determined by handicap. DBCYA welcomes all skippers and crew no matter what their experience.

The main purpose of the race series is for skippers and crew to test and develop their skills in a friendly, supported environment and to help prepare for cruising adventures.

2024-25 OFFICIAL RACEBOOK – available October 2024

Print copies available at sign-on or behind the bar. Includes NOR, Simplified Racing Rules, tide times, buoy maps, prizes and awards and details of our sponsors – please support them where you can.


Race courses available prior to each race (posted to this page)

Race 1 – 10 Nov 2024
Race 2 – 24 Nov 2024
Race 3 – 8 Dec 2024
Race 4 – 19 Jan 2025
Sternchaser – 26 Jan 2025
Race 5 – 9 Feb 2025
Race 6 – 23 Feb 2025
Race 7 – 9 Mar 2025
Race 8 – 23 Mar 2025
Race 9 – 6 April 2025


There are three divisions for mono-hulls:

  • Racing I Division – For the cruiser/racer and racing boats
  • Racing II Division – For those cruisers with a slightly more competitive streak and/or faster boats
  • Cruising Division – The most popular division with, as the name suggests, more emphasis on camaraderie than competition.
  • Multi-hull Division – special division for the cats


There are three ways to register for a race:

  1. At the official sign-on, between 6pm and 7pm the Friday before each race at the DBCYA clubhouse, where a free drink for the skipper awaits. New participants are especially encouraged along on the Friday to get familiar and get involved.
  2. Online registration via RevSport. REGISTRATION CLOSES 9PM THE SATURDAY PRIOR TO EACH RACE. If you register online after this time your registration will be missed.
  3. Register in person at the DBCYA bar on Saturday between 12 noon and 9pm.

Indemnity form 2023-24 – all skippers and crew to complete prior to participation in the series. Hard copies also available from the Race Committee at sign-on.


All skippers are required to complete a self audit of their vessel equipment and complete the Safety Audit Form – Cat 5 and return to the WSRS race committee prior to commencing their second race. Audit forms can also be collected at sign-on.


Skippers are required to be DBCYA Full members.
Skippers are required to ensure that all their crew are members of Australian Sailing (AS) prior to sailing, to ensure they are covered by personal accident cover.
This is achieved by either:
1) DBCYA sail crew membership (preferred method)
– automatic AS membership, plus the benefits of DBCYA membership including access to all facilities. $50 annual fee.
2) Sailpass temporary AS membership
– an online registration system which provides temporary cover for that day only. $10 per pass. Handy for guest crew appearances. QR code is provided in the Official Racebook.

A reminder that all crew visiting the DBCYA premises (say for after-race drinks and presentation) more than three times per year must obtain DBCYA social membership as a minimum.


There is a $20 non-refundable participation fee per yacht, per race.


Refer to the ‘Notice of Race’ in the Official Race book for the start signals chart.

  • Div 1      Racing 1     Start time 1325
  • Div 2      Racing II     Start time 1330
  • Div 3      Cruising      Start time 1335
  • Div 4      Multi-hulls   Start time 1340


Individual Race Results 2022-23
Racing Results –  all years, all individual races


Darwin Buoy Map

Photo album: 2018-19 Series – Race 1, 04 November 2018

Aerial footage: 2017-18 series – Race 4, 14 January 2018


Before starting your trip, get the most up to date marine forecast from the Bureau of Meteorology.

Do the ‘5 Vital Weather Safety Checks’ when planning your boating trip:

    • Warnings current for your boating area
    • Weather conditions affecting safe navigation and comfort
    • Wind conditions
    • Wave conditions
    • Tide times

Read more information about how to use the five vital weather safety checks.

Local marine weather information

Wet Season Race Series

Principal Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors

Development & Safety Partners