Tiwi Islands Yacht Race


DBCYA is pleased to announce the Tiwi Islands Yacht Race in June each year.  Traditionally managed by the Darwin Sailing Club, this iconic race is now being hosted by Dinah Beach Cruising Yacht Association.

This 300 nautical mile round-the-islands race, held over a long weekend, provides a perfect opportunity for skippers and crew to enjoy some friendly competition or test their vessel in open waters in the lead-up to the Spice Islands Darwin Ambon Race and/or the Darwin Dili Yacht Rally.

There are three divisions:

Division 1 – ORC Club Monohull
ORC Certificate & Cat 3 PLUS Safety.

Division 1 – PHS Monohull
Cat 3 PLUS Safety

Division 2 – PHS Multihull
Cat 3 PLUS Safety.

Open to vessels that meet safety requirements.  For more information refer to the below audit forms and Notice of Race.



5 vessels and 29 crew took part in the 2019 race, commencing on Saturday 08 June. An adventuresome time was had, and the results are below.


Cat 3 Monohulls audit form 2017-2021

Cat 3 Multihulls audit form 2017-2021

Race Instructions – 2019 Tiwi Islands Yacht Race – V2.1


Our awesome sponsors:

Mix 104.9